In this companion webinar to Get up to Speed, with 5G, industry expert Michael Derby will dive deeper into using 5G as a tool to meet the latest demands of our world, how it differs from previous cellular generations, and compliance of 5G from a test lab and certification body perspective.

Why should I attend?

To help you gain marketing access, Michael will guide you through the testing required to get a 5G device approved and how those tests differ from the previous generation.  These tests include radio performance, EMC, RF exposure safety (SAR and PSD), over the air (OTA), and conformance testing, and the regulatory requirements for the USA (FCC) and the EU (RED).

Additionally, this presentation will include more detailed information on: 

  • What is 5G, and how does it differ from previous Gs?
  • 5G in business and society, for lifestyle and IoT
  • Advantages of using 5G
  • Challenges of using 5G
  • Required testing for 5G products to ensure market access
  • Regulatory approval for the FCC and RED

Register today

Register via the links below to secure your spot for the session that best fits your time zone. 

Live webinar

Register for the 'Getting up to Speed, with 5g - a Compliance Perspective' webinar

April 1st at 7:00 am PDT | 10:00am EDT | 3:00pm BST

Live Webinar

Register for the 'Getting up to Speed, with 5G - a Compliance Perspective' webinar

April 1st at 11:00am PDT | 2:00pm EDT | 7:00pm BST

Michael Derby, Technical Director, Connected Technologies

Michael Derby is a Technical Director at Element Materials within the Connected Technologies group, supporting manufacturers and colleagues in the test and approval of radio-enabled equipment.  He has more than 30 years of experience in the industry, with testing and approvals roles, including EMC, Radio Performance, and RF Exposure SAR. He also provides training and technical support to the industry through advisory projects and seminar courses. Within Element, Michael is a Certification Body for the USA and Canada; an EU Notified Body for the RED and a UK Approved Body for the RER.  He provides technical support to Element’s test labs and customers, and is part of a team responsible for the growth and development of Element’s technical services.

Michael is an active member of the REDCA (RED Compliance Association) and TCB Council; acting as the liaison between the two organizations and author of many technical guidance documents within the industry.  He is the Vice Chairman of the TCB Council Board of Directors and the Chair of the radio module committee.  In addition to this, Michael is also the technical secretary of the EMC Test Lab Association.

His experience includes product development, testing, and certification for manufacturers and test laboratories. He provides worldwide services to customers and colleagues from his office in the Hampshire area of the UK.

Our team of over 6,000 Engaged Experts in North America, Europe, The Middle East, Australia, Asia and Africa are ready to help you.