What is the RCM Mark? Frequently Asked Questions

Created in 2013, the Regulatory Compliance Mark (RCM Mark) replaced both the C-Tick and A-Tick certification programs in Australia. By combining compliance requirements for telecom equipment and EME/EMC testing, the RCM Mark provides a single, integrated approach to certification for wireless devices in Australia and New Zealand.

The steps to obtaining an RCM mark differ slightly from C-Tick and A-Tick programs, causing some confusion about how to achieve proper certification. Our experts provide answers to frequently asked questions, helping you make informed decisions about the certification process.

What does the RCM Mark cover?

RCM Marking ensures the safety and performance of telecoms, electrical, and wireless devices. By placing an RCM Mark on products and equipment, manufacturers certify that their devices meet all applicable standards required for product safety and performance.

Devices that fall under the RCM Mark are given a classification of Level 1, Level 2, or Level 3, depending on the amount of assumed electrical risk. Products with high risk are labeled Level 3, while those with the lowest risk are Level 1. 

  • Examples of applicable products include:
  • Consumer telecoms equipment
  • Consumer cables and connectors
  • Radio and wireless communication devices
  • Electronic vehicle devices 

Level 3 devices require third-party safety approval from a certified body located in Australia or New Zealand.  Element has local partners ready to assist in getting your products approved and on the market as quickly as possible.

How do I get my product RCM Marked?

The process for obtaining an RCM Mark is similar to other certification programs, such as CE Marking. After determining which labeling notice is correct for your product and which standards the product must conform to, compliance must be demonstrated through test results and technical documentation.

Once testing is done, and all relevant documentation is compiled, a Declaration of Conformity (DoC) is completed. In Australia and New Zealand, a local representative must sign off on the DoC before the product can be taken to market. (While most devices can be signed either in Australia or New Zealand, some wireless products must be signed in both, and some telecoms products require additional certification.)

After all of these conditions are met, manufacturers can register their products with the Electrical Equipment Safety System (EESS) database through the ACMA. At this point, the RCM mark is affixed per ACMA guidelines, and the product can be sold in Australia and New Zealand. 

How do I know what testing I need?

Under RCM Marking guidelines, there are four main labeling notices based on product groupings: Telecommunications, Radiocommunications, EMC, and EME. Each notice group has specific technical standards for testing and documentation and serves as a guide for designing and implementing compliance programs. 


My product already has a CE Mark; do I need an RCM Mark?

Although CE Marking and RCM Marking share some of the same technical requirements, RCM Marking applies explicitly to products marketed and sold in Australia and New Zealand. While some test results and technical documents can be used for both, each applicable product must register for and receive an RCM Mark.


How can Element help? 

Our Global Market Access (GMA) team exists to help manufacturers successfully market their products in markets across the globe. From testing and documentation support to strategic guidance, our project management approach to compliance programs gets your product to market with less time and expense.

For more information about RCM Marking, or to speak to an expert, contact us today.

Find related Resources

Our team of over 9,000 Engaged Experts in North America, Europe, The Middle East, Australia, Asia and Africa are ready to help you.