A Guide to the EN ISO 80079 Standard Series

Simon Barrowcliff

By Engaged Expert

Simon Barrowcliff

More content from this author

Learn about our Engaged Experts

Simon Barrowcliff is a highly experienced expert in product testing, assessment, certification & approvals.

With the implementation of the EN ISO 80079 standard series in 2016, manufacturers now have access to a truly global set of requirements for mechanical ATEX equipment. 

The release of EN ISO 80079 is significant, because it addresses basic requirements and protection concepts for mechanical explosion protected equipment on an international level. Previous standards, in the EN 13463 series, had addressed mechanical explosion protection but were limited to use within Europe under the ATEX Directive. In contrast, the EN ISO 80079 series has global application and can be used within the extended scope of the IECEx scheme which now includes mechanical equipment.

The EN ISO 80079 series replaced the EN 13463 series under the ATEX directive after 31 October 2019.

How is EN ISO 80079 Different?

The EN 13463 series had numerous standards covering mechanical explosion protected equipment. ISO 80079 simplifies this, covering requirements in three major sections.

  • EN ISO 80079-36 This section covers basic requirements for design, construction and testing of most non-electrical equipment and components with their own potential ignition source. 
  • EN ISO 80079-37 Section 37 gives requirements for non-electrical equipment under three different types of protection: Constructional safety (“c”), Control of ignition source (“b”), and Liquid immersion (“k”). 
  • EN ISO 80079-38 While section 36 specifies basic requirements for general mechanical equipment and section 37 covers specific types of protected equipment, Section 38 is dedicated to equipment and components in explosive atmospheres in underground mines, specifically components or products that may be susceptible to firedamp and combustible dust.

Documentation requirements for EN ISO 80079

For products that were previously compliant with the EN 13463 series under the ATEX, directive (link), EN ISO 80079 introduced several new documentation procedures. Since the new standard series uses IEC 60079-0 as the reference document for many of its tests and requirements, the standards can be treated similarly to the IEC 60079 concept standards (such as Ex e). 

Because of this, use of the new standards are most visible in the Ex marking on equipment. Mechanical equipment under 80079 is now marked Ex has part of the Ex coding (e.g., Ex h IIB T4 Gb). 

In addition, the type of protection (e.g. “c,” “b” or “k”) from EN ISO 80079-37 cannot be recognized from the Ex marking code “h” and is reliant on the description of the type of protection outlined in the user instructions.

How Can I Become EN ISO 80079 Certified?

The EN ISO 80079 series standards do not alter the fundamental compliance of equipment that fully met standards in the EN 13463 series. The standards require a re-evaluation to prove compliance with the state of the art requirements of the ATEX directive obtained before 31 October 2019. Our experts can help determine how your current certification is affected, providing guidance, support and testing to ensure that your products are compliant.

For more information about our services, contact us today.

Find related Resources

Our team of over 9,000 Engaged Experts in North America, Europe, The Middle East, Australia, Asia and Africa are ready to help you.